for forthcoming uk programmes of jewish or israeli interest

Today: Naz Shah 1/11/2016

this morning (tuesday 1st), 7.54-7.57am, on bbc radio 4
today (presented by nick robinson) includes a very long and unsuccessful attempt to get naz shah to speak about her committee’s report on Labour anti-semitism …

“Do you believe that your party has taken the same journey that you took?
I can speak for myself, I think my party’s on a journey, as is with any party. Whilst I’d love to talk about that, what we’re talking about this morning is islamphopbia, and I think from an islamophobic perspective, I think the Tory party certainly have lots more to answer for.
But it’s important to ask you about this, if you don’t mind, Naz Shah, because you weren’t on that committee, you haven’t spoken since then, it’s an extremely important issue, I just wanted to ask you whether you agree with the verdict of that inquiry, that the Labour Party was in danger of lending force to allegations that elements of the Labour movement are institutionally anti-semitic?
I think all institutions in this country are on a journey when it comes to prejudice, we have prejudice in it, in all institutions, whether that’s racism, whether that’s anti-semitism, I certainly have been very blessed in terms of being able to talk to the Jewish community, and that has really influenced my learning, and I stand by my journey, and what I said in terms of my ignorance, in terms of what my experiences have been, and I have had that compassion extended to me, and I’m certainly, in terms of the Labour Party, I am with the Labour Party, supporting them on their journey, because the Jewish community [interrupted]
Are they doing the right thing, because the inquiry that was launched by your leader Jeremy Corbyn, carried out by Shami Chakrabarti, was criticised by the Committee that you’re on, said it just wasn’t good enough, and it didn’t take seriously enough the separate issue of anti-semitism, not anti-racism as a whole?
For me, I wasn’t on that inquiry … in terms of what the Committee said, there are lots of conversations about that report, but I think what is really important to me right now is today it’s about sharia councils

(if you missed it, available from 1:54:45 to 1:57:30 at http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b080t63t#playt=1h54m44s)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

IsraelisOK

a happygoldfish blog

